California Overtime Rules
California overtime laws exist to protect workers from abuses at work. In the list below I have given a brief outline of the California overtime regulations your company may be violating. If you think you have an overtime claim call our California labor law offices, we will review your case for free.
California Minimum Wage: As of January 1, 2014 California minimum wage is $9 an hour
California Time and a Half: When working overtime California employers are required to pay one and a half times your hour rate. Unlike federal law which dictates overtime is after 40 hours a week in California it is ALSO after 8 hours in a single work day.
California Double Time: In addition, after 12 hours in a 24 hour period you are entitled to twice your normal hourly rate as a California employee
California Seventh Day Rule: California workers also have protection for working
seven consecutive days in which case the entire 7th day must be paid at time and a half and double time after 8 hours.
Working Off The Clock: Don’t do it! California labor laws dictate you cannot be required to finish “closing duties,” change into a uniform at work or otherwise complete your job while being clocked out. If you are forced to do it, document it, and call us.
On Call or Standby Pay: According to California law, you must be paid while under the control of an employer. Employees on “standby” or “on call” status usually fall under this rule and are frequently not paid correctly.
While these California overtime rules may appear fairly straightforward on the surface, many times they are more complex than anticipated; there are also specific overtime exemptions outlined here. If you think your employer could be violating the California overtime pay requirements, or any other labor laws set out to protect California workers, my team and I are waiting and ready to assist you. Contact us today for a free evaluation of your claim.